HOW TO BE AN ALIEN LUNAR DEATH QUEEN GODDESS

It’s a big statement to make and I may not be the human to make such a statement but here is my advice on how to be an Alien Lunar Death Queen Goddess in 2015.ALIEN PRINCESS1. LOOK TO THE COSMOS

How do you expect to appreciate this life if you don’t appreciate the vastness of it? When you’re coming home from the bar at 11pm, or from your friends house or the library, look up towards the heavens and appreciate the stars. Even if you don’t believe iN anything, you can at least appreciate the beauty of the night (and the moon and the stars and Mars). Who knows who’s living out there?! Alien friends may be trying to communicate and we may not know!

2. APPRECIATE YOUR DREAMS

Have you woken up from a striking dream at an uncanny hour for the past three nights? Take note! Your dreams say a lot about your present situation in life as well as what you may be going through in the future (not to mention what your unconscious may be potentially dealing with). Keep a dream journal, or use an app (I love the Dreams Diary and Dreams Mood app for Iphone ) and figure out what is is your dreams are telling you. Find connection to the part of yourself that resides in the dark.

3. WORK WITH CRYSTALS

Need some peace? Grab an amethyst. Need to channel your higher power in every sense?? Grab a crystal quartz point or amethyst. Work with stones and find your center or whatever it is you need to find. A good list of crystal correspondences can be found HERE.

4. DAYDREAM

How do you expect to connect to the ultra-cool, astral lunar death queen goddess part of yourself if you  never let your imagination take over and drift off? There’s a reason the imagination is so powerful and that’s because it has the power to literally create and shape the world around us. Buddha once said “what you think, you become’. Thoughts become things, so may as well drift into that sweet spot and daydream yourself into the dimension where everything makes sense.

5. WEAR WHATEVER THE HELL YOU WANT TO WEAR

Want to wear an oversize floral tee with leather leggings, a vintage flannel and a pair of Dr. Martins, coupled with a grandpa sweater and red lips? GO FOR IT. Wear whatever your little alien, death queen, astral traveling soul desires. If you feel powerful in it (and it’s decently appropriate for the situation) GO FOR IT. What screams ” I control intergalactic dimensions” more than a great outfit and some confidence?? Absolutely nothing.

ALIEN PRINCESS  26. FIND WHAT YOU LOVE AND OWN IT

What screams GODDESS OF THIS LIFE AND BEYOND more than owning your own passion?? Whether it’s film, math, fashion, art, music or medicine, having a passion in this life is a gift! Own it. Use what you love and make a difference, inspire yourself and others, create your own reality based on this passion and give back to the world in which it was born. Even if you don’t have a singular passion, do what you love and you’ll be sending all the good vibes back into the world.

7.DAYDREAM ABOUT ALIENS

How can you expect to be an alien death queen goddess if you don’t think about aliens?! The probability that there is something beyond this life is astounding, so you may as well take some time to think about what this would mean in the context of your own reality. Or, at least take time to daydream about how cool having an alien bff would be (and what they would look like)!

8. FIND CONNECTION

It may be finding connection through yoga, through religion, through divination, through friendships, but finding deep rooted connections is so, so important. Find your roots. Own them. You can’t expect to live an interstellar life if you don’t know where exactly your roots began.

9. WEAR WEIRD COLORED LIPSTICK

This is simply because nothing will make you feel more like a lunar goddess than wearing lilac lipstick with silver eyeliner. Or maybe you’re more of a inky blue kinda girl, regardless. experiment with how you look. The way in which you travel through this life does have an impact on how you feel. Wear what makes you feel like the lunar alien death queen goddess you are.

10. RIDE YOUR CRYSTAL COVERED CHARIOT THROUGH THIS LIFE AND THE NEXT AND BE GRATEFUL FOR IT

Be unapologetically who you are. Ride the crystal chariot you created through this life and the next with an unyielding sense of appreciation for everything and everyone who has shaped you into the god(dess) you are and own it. Be thankful for what this life has taught you and envision your future; find what you love and believe in it without any doubts and it will manifest. Ride the unyielding wave of appreciation for who you are and what you encompasses and this world will give you amazing things.

OWN YOUR INNER ALIEN GODDESS AND CREATE YOUR OWN REALITY.

I hope everyone finds some sense of peace and comfort today.

Namaste,

Gabriela

 

Original photos by Mary Louise DeCrescenzio and Alexandra Hersitk (@alexyael)

Travel Diaries Pt I: Greece

The past few weeks have been incredible. After fashion week, I had a few days and then spring break started. I was in Santorini, Greece for four days before heading to Paris and then Florence, where I currently am. I thought that I should probably record my adventures, and I thought Greece would be a good place to start. I got to travel around with my roommate Emma and Miranda, of High Voltage Blog. 

1Santornini is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to. It was off season, hence chilly weather in the 60’s highest, so a lot was closed. Lucky for us that meant prime relaxing time. Drinking “cappuccino freddos” (iced cappuccinos!), eating Greek salads and fried feta cheese in honey and sesame (AMAZING) and just enjoying the beautiful views.  Also there were SO MANY DOGS. There were a lot of cats as well, and they liked sitting in branches and sitting on dumpsters, and even though some of them were incredibly sweet I’m still a fan of dogs. We even befriended a special dog we named “Dogakos”, she followed us around for a night and then we fond her the next morning! She liked to eat rocks… 2You can take the girl out of Mexico, but you can’t take Mexico out of the girl. Aka I can’t not dance when I’m happy! I was in paradise, how could I not be overjoyed?! We stayed in Fira and ventured to Oia (another part of the island). It was all absolutely breathtaking and relaxing. It was wonderful taking it at our own pace and taking the beauty of the Mediterranean in!  I never expected to be able to experience this, especially not at 21. So beyond grateful for this experience. 3Oia, the edge of the world. Exactly what you’d expect, but beyond what you anticipate.  4“A girl, her eyebrows and Oia, Greece; A novela” – by Gabriela Lorraine Herstik  5 6Fun fact, as I was sitting these dogs came up to me, snuggled me and surrounded me with a dog yin yang. I am convinced these pups are my spirit guides. SO beyond humbled by their sweet souls.yoooWe also found “Atlantis Books”. An adorable bookshop that I think doubled as a hostel ( bunk bed, small kitchen and all!). I bought a collection of Steinbeck’s short stories because when will I ever get the chance to buy my favorite author in Greece? Probably never again (or at least not for many, many years). 7Photo courtesy of Miranda Feneberger of High Voltage Blog  2015-02-28 04.24.25Donkey parade in Fira! 2015-02-28 04.49.42 2015-02-28 12.06.05-2 2015-02-28 12.12.48 2015-02-28 12.17.00-1   2015-02-28 12.47.36-2Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetI kept my outfit grossly simple for Greece, we didn’t even have checked baggage! All carry on meant leggings and long sleeves for days. IMG_10892015-02-28 12.35.122015-02-28 12.38.47 2015-02-28 12.48.22 Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with a4 presetGreece was the perfect start to Spring Break. I’ve made an effort to be present, and to absorb everything I’ve been able to see. I’m excited to share part II and part III of my travel diaries, through both Paris and Florence. Presence has been a reoccurring theme, as always.

Namaste friends,

Gabriela

Fashion Week Roundup

17 shows, countless showrooms, lots of running around and my first Fashion Week is finally DONE. To say it was an incredible experience is an understatement. I had the amazing oppottunity to accompany my editor at Deux Hommes, Amy, to a plethora of shows for the magazine. Since DH covers up-and-coming designers in the luxury sportswear market I was able see, and review, some of the most incredible and innovative collections that are often overlooked. Fashion Week was NOT glamorous, by any means. It was a lot of running around in the chilly London rain, trying to figure out where the next show was.

Anyway, here’s a wrap up of my 5 days as International Press for London Fashion Week.

410982353_10152581014151207_824650139378283076_n 11001747_10152581014081207_3016012724262615936_n jmThe first show of the day was Jamie Wei Huang. Her collection was titled “Nymphomaniac” and explored the idea of power and desire that a woman feels in every facet of her life. After the show, Amy and I ran backstage and I was lucky enough to ask Jamie a little bit about the collection. The idea of desire and power seemed to be a narrative woven throughout her brand. Very cool.  tumblr_nk37urwFPH1r421pio1_1280tumblr_nk3a540Msk1r421pio1_1280Day 1 included 5 shows, meeting Pandemonia, and getting to go to a show with Miranda. Miranda and I started our blogs around the same time, pledging that we would bust out of our little suburban Georgia town and make a name for ourselves. If you would have told me eight years ago that we would be going to London Fashion Week together I would have laughed. Life is good sometimes. 9 day 2 8Day two was great and just as busy as day one. Youjia Jin, whose pieces are featured above, sent out an absolutely striking collection inspired by a slightly dystopian Alice in Wonderland. I had the amazing opportunity to write about the collection, which you can read HERE, and I was even able to meet her at her showroom on the fourth day of Fashion Week.I kept day two simple, with dusty pink brogues I picked up at Zara for 5 pounds and simple sweater.

  I also got to see the Lucas Nascimento show which was an absolute dream. I wrote about Lucas for The Fashion Law over summer and I never expected to see his collection live, so it was really an incredible experience. 10 11


Day 3 started with Xiao Li, which was an absolutely amazing collection that spoke of the designers unhappiness with fast fashion and consumer economy.

12This was followed by Gyo Yuni Kimchoe,  a personal favorite, who truly delivered an AMAZING collection inspired by the balance between shamanism and science. The atmosphere was amazing and they even played a slowed down version of Black Skinhead during the show.13 14After Gyo Yuni Kimchoe we ran to Belstaff, a mile in the disguising London rain. Thankfully the presentation was beautiful, and themed ” Free Spirit”, a sentiment I can truly appreciate. 15 16 17 18 19After Belstaff it was back to Somerset House to see Phoebe English, another amazing designer who I wrote about for The Fashion Law but never expected to see. Her collection featured incredible netting and intricate embellishment. It was absolutely amazing and I would be lying in saying I didn’t tear up during the presentation.

 

20 21 223

Day 4 featured some great designers, and was another day of running around. My phone has been very complicated and has been pooping out with the display, and probably the processor, so I have very limited photos. Once I get better photos, they will be posted as will my collection reviews. I also go to see an amazing showroom, which included the work of J Cheng.

2 Yesterday, day 5, was a little bit more relaxing of the days, with just one showroom and show. I decided to wear my sheer skirt from Urban Outfitters with my shell top from ASOS. Working Fashion Week as press was beyond what I could have imagined. I had the incredible opportunity of meeting amazing people, seeing wonderful  collections and basking in the fact that fashion doesn’t have to be stuck up and catty.

Until next season,

Gabriela

 

 

Sundays in Black and White

I’m lucky enough to be taking a styling class at London College of Fashion, and I wanted to share some of the looks that didn’t make it to our final project. Our theme was monochromatic and masculine inspired, and originally my partner and I were going to start with an all white look and transition to all black. We’re revising the final project since we wanted to make the looks more cohesive, but here are some outtakes that I modeled. These were all styled by Alexandra Cedervall and myself.

The next few weeks are going to be extremely hectic.. I’m going to London Fashion Week as press with Deux Hommes, which is ridiculously exciting, and then I’ll be leaving to Greece, then Paris and finally Amsterdam. I have incomplete outfits for fashion week which means speed shopping this week, and then I have a lot to do before Spring Break! I can’t wait to get back into the swing of posting things. Life is absolutely wonderful and crazy but I need to find routine amongst all the craziness! Until then! H  one42

I hope you all have a wonderful week filled with love, dogs and fashion week!

Namaste,

Gabriela

Deux Hommes

I’m excited to announce that I’m a fashion editorial intern with Deux Hommes Magazine! I get to write about up-and-coming designers in the luxury sportswear market and I couldn’t be more excited about it. My internship with both MOD Magazine and United Colors of Fashion has come to a close, but I’m excited for the next chapter of my life. You can check out Deux Hommes HEREdeux 2deux 1

Saturday’s at Cambridge

This week has been hectic and I apologize for the lack of posts! Monday was my birthday and although it started out pretty stressful, my night ended at a Kanye themed party with some good people. The week has been a blur, and I promise I will upload photos from Bath, but today I wanted to post some photos from my trip to Cambridge! I got to visit the university and the town yesterday and it was absolutely magnificent. IMG_0908We spent the day touring a couple of the colleges on the campus, eating at the pub, doing some shopping and just enjoying the view. We ended the tour by punting down the river; the English version of a gondola ride. It was magnificent, especially considering the city is almost 2000 years old and the university is over 800 years old! Cambridge is further north than London and I knew it was going to be chilly so I dressed accordingly. I ended up looking like a giant blog of gray and pink because I knew I was going to be outside and I wanted to be warm! Nonetheless, I grabbed my pink oxfords, my cheetah scarf and a beanie to keep cozy. cheesingI had to take the cheesiest photo possible, obviously. IMG_0916IMG_0932IMG_0947IMG_0953IMG_0956IMG_0965IMG_0969IMG_0966IMG_0971The views we had down the river while punting were absolultely incredible. Not to mention the fact that we got to curl up with some tartan blankets. It was cold, but really, who can complain!?

Where did you adventure to this weekend?!

XOXO
Gabriela

Sundays at Stonehenge

Today was a wonderful day of firsts and lasts. I’ve known that I wanted to go to Stonehenge since before my plans to study in England were solidified. Beyond that, I knew that I wanted to go as close to my birthday as possible. Well, folks, dreams come true. I spent my last day as a 20-year-old at Stonehenge and Bath; to say it was incredible is an understatement. I was born on February 2nd, also known as Imbolc. Imbolc is a Gaelic holiday that’s been adopted by neo-pagans as a celebration of the earth beginning to wake up and get ready for spring; it’s a day of light and new beginnings. Classically, Imbolc honors the Celtic goddess Brigid, the goddess of inspiration, fire and light. What better way to mark the beginning of a new year than to visit an ancient landmark on a day that honors a Celtic diety?! Although the Druids didn’t build Stonehenge, (it dates back 5000 years, way before the Celts), the stones were used as markers at the solstices and Stonehenge was probably used as a spiritual gathering place as well. Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetAlthough the stones were smaller than I anticipated, and I couldn’t actually touch them (what a bummer), it was still so incredible to get to see Stonehenge in real life.There were lots of sheep and ravens and it was definitely a surreal feeling to look around and see this ancient landmark against the beautiful English countryside. This past year has been the best year yet. Of course, there’s always turbulence, but I’m thankful for all the opportunities and experiences I’ve had this past year. I started 2015 on a different continent and I’m starting 21 the same way.  My mantra and intention for the year is “I will live in love, gratuity, presence, abundance and joy”. I’m sure everything else will fall into place after that.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 presetI got so close to this raven, which happens to be my favorite bird. The raven is the bird of the goddess The Morrigan, a Celtic triple goddess. Pretty perfect for 21 and Stonehenge. Ravens are typically considered messengers, they’re linked with intuition, the occult and the other side. 10582809_10152537612921207_6144597560751144715_o 10974482_10152537614051207_3621929270395187131_o 10945696_10152537614781207_5906529860533202302_o10397182_10152537613561207_8082965418265180698_ounnamed (1)Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 presetAfter Stonehenge we went to Bath, but that’s a post for later this week. Happy Sunday folks. Here’s to a new year, new adventures and lots and lots of abundance and love!

Namaste,

Gabriela

Woman Power Wednesday: Kristyn Nucci

I’m constantly inspired by power women who find their niche in life, crafting their desires into tangible creations, whether it’s through photography, words, theater or even an outfit. These are the artist who are just as interesting as their creations, layered souls with inspiration and individuality seeping out of every pore. So is the case with girl-wonder Kristyn Nucci, a photographer based out of Athens, Georgia.The 21-year-old artist has a penchant for portraying daring women in wondrous worlds with her eye for avant-garde style photos.  With no lack of ambition, or inspiration, Nucci has a knack for pin up style, creating characters, and recreating photographs with her own daring spin.

I was inspired to talk to Kristyn originally for MOD Magazine, but it so happens that she’s perfect for a Woman Power Wednesday post on here instead. I asked her about studying at UGA, where she gets inspiration for shoots and how she developed such a stylized form of photography.

k1

Breathing Fashion: You’re currently studying photography at UGA. What has this experience been like for you?

Kristyn Nucci: It’s certainly opened my eyes to the different forms photography can take. Since the UGA photography program is largely based on fine arts, I’ve realized I am much more of a commercial photographer. That has definitely made me a bit of an anomaly in the program.

BF: How did you get into photography, specifically such a stylized form of fashion photography?

KN: I did a ton of theatre while growing up and throughout high school. That let me express my desire to portray different personalities and different lives, I sort of fell in love with transforming myself into someone else while still making it very much my own. Since the dramatic arts were not the path I decided to pursue, I found an interest in performance in front of a camera instead. It also helps that I am fascinated with the female form and the different roles women take on.

BF :Where do you turn for inspiration? Any other photographers?

KN: I find a lot of inspiration in fashion photographers such as Miles Aldridge and Ellen von Unwerth. They have distinct styles that are both conceptual and high fashion: two things I am obsessed with. Other than that, I’m constantly inspired by pop culture and history—particularly fashion history.

BF: Your shoots seem to be really conceptual! Where do you come up with inspiration for specific shoots?

KN: Many times, I like to mimic a photograph I love or a person whose look I find exciting. I find copycatting to be challenging and ultimately satisfying. Movies, music, and celebrities also generate a lot of my inspiration.

BF: You’re currently working for Little Red Book Magazine as the photography editor. How has this expanded your view on photography, if at all?

KN: It’s nice as an editor to be able to use what I’ve learned in the photography program to be able to critique others’ work and choose which photos are worthy of printing. I’ve learned that scheduling shoots is one of the more difficult tasks of the job, but I find I have a lot of strength in coming up with concepts for said shoots. The job is certainly stressful at times, but too good an experience to let that get in the way.

BF: Where do you hope photography takes you in the future?

KN: I would love to work for a fashion magazine in a big city somewhere, and have the resources to not simultaneously be makeup artist, hair stylist, wardrobe stylist, lighting specialist, etc.

BF: Since you’re incredible at characterization,  I’m curious to know what your own personal day-to-day style is like. How would you describe it?

KN: Since I am constantly in search of costumes to use in my shoots, those costumes usually work their way into my daily wardrobe. Especially since college, I’ve found myself to enjoy taking greater risks in my style. I have everything from an outfit of head-to-toe pleather to a vintage dress from the 1950s. If I had it my way, I would have a full wardrobe of nothing but vintage. Think Dita von Teese.

BF: You like being behind the camera as much as you like being in front of it. What’s your favorite part about modeling?

KN: With the right hairstyle, makeup, and outfit, I can become anybody. I love transforming myself into whatever I have dreamed up for a particular shoot. Besides that, I love the lack of pressure in that I can just keep shooting until I’m satisfied since I’m the only one to see the raw photos.

BF: What’s something we may not know about you?

KN: I absolutely love to sing, and have a secret desire to be a burlesque performer.

k5k7k6k4 k3k2k8All photos by Kristy Nucci

If you want to see more of Kristyn’s photography (I know you do), you can find her website HERE. If you want to stalk her in the meantime (I know you do), you can keep up with her Instagram HERE.

What do you think of this talented vixen?

XOXO

Gabriela

 

 

When The Unknown Becomes The Known

This past week in my style journalism class we were asked to think of something going on in the world that we believe could impact fashion. After presenting our ideas, we were asked to write a blog post about it. I chose to write mine on outer space and the unknown. Happy Sunday folks.

4d3c553515e46dd5935092f98c742e29

Photo courtesy of bt-images.net

There’s a romanticism that’s felt when thinking of the unknown. After mastering all of the frontiers it’s easy to feel stagnant, to feel like our work is finished. The world is in a turbulent state and perhaps it’s in this difficulty that we turn towards daydreams, finding inspiration in the unknown by wondering about our place in the world.

numi 2

Photo courtesy of The Numinous

Perhaps, it’s when violence, war and poverty start seeping more and more into our perception of this life that we’re left looking towards space. In the 60’s we landed on the moon and we felt powerful and indestructible. 50 years later and we’re still inspired by space, by what may or may not be out there, and by the concept of finding our place in this universe, in this world and in this life.

Last week, the Air Force declassified over 10,000 UFO sightings and investigations, releasing them for online for free at Project Blue Book: The Black Vault. Besides the infinite amount of inspiration, and some eerie, eerie encounters, the Air Force declassifying these files only feeds our hunger to know what’s out there. NASA recently released the largest photo in the world of the Andromeda Galaxy, shaking up our perception of where we stand, quite literally, in the universe. Couple both of these amazing feats with the movie Interstellar, and there’s a clear motif that’s happening.

crystals

Image courtesy of Free People

We are constantly searching for ways to make the unknown become the known.

We are hungry for meaning, and purpose and fuel for something larger than ourselves, and the fashion industry is wildly involved in making this quest a popular one. Websites like The Numinous are making spirituality accessible and fashionable. The site weaves fashion and spirituality together, creating a platform for the “numi girl” who wants to look good and find purpose while doing so. Brands like Crystal Cactus, I Am Vibes and even UNIF, are all incorporating spiritual and occult motifs into their clothing, whether it’s through crystals and hamsas to pentacles and tarot cards.

numi

Photo courtesy of The Numinous

We’re screaming to the universe, hoping it answers. We’re finding our footing in places that don’t feel concrete, and we’re trying to find our roots regardless. So, what do space and aliens and Interstellar mean for fashion? Perhaps it means inspiration. Perhaps it means UNIF, or I am Vibes will be inspired by a UFO sighting, or Interstellar, or by the beauty of our galaxy. It certainly means one thing; our fascination of wanting to know what’s out there and what it means for us down here isn’t going anywhere any time soon.

 

 

New Moon Thoughts

Yesterday was the new moon in Aquarius. A super moon in fact; when the moon is closest to the earth and in direct alignment with the sun and earth at the time of the new moon. In other words, this is a super strength new moon. A perfect time to start fresh, let go and imitate the nature of mother moon herself. As the moon waxes and her light grows, grow along with it whatever it is you need this year; balance, happiness, love, letting go of angry thoughts, even money… But be warned. As of today, Mercury is in retrograde! Hold off on making big decisions or booking any travels, and instead use it as a time to “reflect and revise”.Mercury in retrograde means it looks as if Mercury is spinning backwards, although it’s not actually! Everything Mercury rules however, is sent spinning. If you want to know more about the supermoon check HERE, if you want to know more about Mercury being in retrograde, click HERE.

tarot

The Wild Unknown tarot deck

Yesterday was the new moon in Aquarius. A super moon in fact; when the moon is closest to the earth and in direct alignment with the sun and earth at the time of the new moon. In other words, this is a super strength new moon. A perfect time to start fresh, let go and imitate the nature of mother moon herself. As the moon waxes and her light grows, grow along with it whatever it is you need this year; balance, happiness, love, letting go of angry thoughts, even money… But be warned. As of today, Mercury is in retrograde! Hold off on making big decisions or booking any travels, and instead use it as a time to “reflect and revise”.Mercury in retrograde means it looks as if Mercury is spinning backwards, although it’s not actually! Everything Mercury rules however, is sent spinning. If you want to know more about the supermoon check HERE, if you want to know more about Mercury being in retrograde, click HERE. A couple of days ago I drew the five of cups as my card for the day. I asked what I needed to learn, what I needed to focus on, and this was the card I got. Sadness, grief, feeling the effects of your emotions. Not necessarily the happiest card, but it did make me think of some things, applicable to fresh starts and the emotional harvesting they entail. New, fresh starts mean letting go. Sometimes that’s easy, but a lot of the time it’s not easy at all. Sometimes the best thing we can do for ourselves is to let go, even when it’s hard and it makes us sad. If you’re logical and emotional like I am, you get angry at yourself for feeling sad or having a hard time letting go of that which you know logically is no longer serving you. This card was a reminder for me to learn from my sadness; to observe it, to watch it and not to get angry at myself for feeling sadness or grief at something ending. Have compassion with yourself; Don’t fixate and get angry at yourself for being sad. Letting go takes time. Perspective is everything. Choose to be the observer of your sadness, knowing that it’s a natural part of the process of healing and moving on to new and better things, and focus on those things instead. Don’t fixate. Breathe. Love and be compassionate.

mystic mama

Photo courtesy of Mystic Mamma

Make a conscious effort everyday to let go of that which does not serve you. Imitate the moon and grow in whatever way will serve your spirit best, whether you’re choosing compassion, to go to yoga, to dress in your favorite color more…whatever it is your soul wants.  You know what they say…

New Moon, new you.

Namaste,

Gabriela